Cause for the Canonization of 

Servant of God 

Demetrius Gallitzin

"Apostle of the Alleghenies"




Who was Demetrius Gallitzin?

Catholic Register - Biographical Sketch

Intercessory  Prayer

Report Favors

Help Fund the Cause

Prince Gallitzin Cross Awards


Places to Visit

Books, Letters and Articles

Other Resources

How is one declared a saint?



May 11, 2006


(HOLLIDAYSBURG, PA) – Individuals, couples, a priest, and a deacon make up the 2006 class of recipients for the Prince Gallitzin Cross Awards, Bishop Joseph V. Adamec has announced.

A total of 14 awards will be bestowed by Bishop Joseph to those in the Diocese of Altoona-Johnstown who have been deemed to exemplify the discipleship and evangelizing characteristics of the Servant of God Demetrius Gallitzin. The Prince Gallitzin Cross Award ceremony will be held Saturday, June 3 at 5 p.m. at the Cosgrave Center at Mount Aloysius College in Cresson.

The 2006 Prince Gallitzin Cross awardees are:

Deacon Thomas E. Boldin of Saint John the Evangelist Parish, Bellefonte
Mr. Dee J. Bragonier of Saint Rose Lima Parish, Altoona
Mr. Frederick and Mrs. Lucinda Galley of the Basilica of Saint Michael Parish, Loretto
Mrs. Lois A. Krug of Holy Name Parish, Ebensburg
Mr. James Luciano of Saint Therese the Child Jesus Parish, Altoona
Rev. Msgr. Robert C. Mazur, Rector of The Cathedral of the Blessed Sacrament, Altoona
Mr. Charles J. Mogish of Saint Agnes Parish, Lock Haven
Mr. Michael J. O’Hara, Sr. of Holy Name Parish in Ebensburg
Dr. Louis and Mrs. Elfrieda Persic of Good Shepherd Parish in State College
Mr. George G. Pisula of Saints Casimir and Emerich Parish in Johnstown
Dr. Gerald R. Robinson of Immaculate Conception Parish in Lock Haven
Mr. Mike Valcheff of Saint Columba Parish in Johnstown

“I look forward to this annual event of recognizing those who carry on the spirit of the Servant of God, Demetrius Gallitzin, within our Diocesan Church,” said Bishop Joseph. “It is a way of encouraging each other on our way into the Reign of God.”

This is the 17th year for the Prince Gallitzin Cross Awards. Bishop Joseph inaugurated the awards in 1990 as a way to recognize those who provide exemplary service to the Church and its people. Including this year’s recipients, 233 people have received the honor.