Cause for the Canonization of 

Servant of God 

Demetrius Gallitzin

"Apostle of the Alleghenies"




Who was Demetrius Gallitzin?

Catholic Register - Biographical Sketch

Intercessory  Prayer

Report Favors

Help Fund the Cause

Prince Gallitzin Cross Awards


Places to Visit

Books, Letters and Articles

Other Resources

How is one declared a saint?



Monday, April 30, 2007

2007 Honorees will Receive Awards at Ceremony in June

(HOLLIDAYSBURG, PA) – The Most Reverend Joseph V. Adamec, Bishop of Altoona-Johnstown, today announced this year’s recipients for the Prince Gallitzin Cross Awards.

Two couples, seven individuals, three priests, and a deacon make up the 2007 class of honorees. Each award winner will receive his or her Gallitzin Cross at the 18th annual awards ceremony on Saturday, June 9 at the Cosgrave Center at Mount Aloysius College in Cresson. The event will begin with a reception at 5 p.m.

The 2007 Prince Gallitzin Cross Award recipients are:

Reverend Anthony F. Spilka, OFM Conv., Pastor, SS Casimir & Emerich and St. Columba, Johnstown
Deacon Michael Ondik, Good Shepherd Parish, State College
Mr. Thomas Strunk, Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish, Altoona
Sister Benedict Joseph Watters, RSM, Mount Aloysius College, Cresson
Very Reverend Neil R. Dadey, Pastor, Saint John the Evangelist Parish, Bellefonte and Blessed Kateri Tekakwitha Parish, Penns Valley
Mrs. Lucy Mock, Basilica of Saint Michael the Archangel, Loretto
Mrs. Carmella Persio, Holy Name Parish, Ebensburg
Mr. Thomas and Mrs. Samantha Cicotello, Archdiocese of Washington
Mr. Frank Seymour, Basilica of Saint Michael the Archangel, Loretto
Reverend Vincent Zidek, OSB, Pastor, Saint Benedict Parish, Carrolltown
Mr. Harry Sickler, Jr., Saint Matthew Parish, Tyrone
Mrs. Elizabeth L. McDermott, Saint Mary Parish, Nanty Glo
Mr. Robert and Mrs. Debbie Will, Saint Thomas the Apostle, Bedford

Recipients were formally nominated by pastors, campus ministers, and the bishop after receiving recommendations from individuals and parish councils. The awards are bestowed to those who exemplify the discipleship and evangelizing characteristics of the Servant of God Demetrius Gallitzin. Including this year’s class, 248 people will have received the honor over the 18 years it has been conferred.

“I look forward to recognizing this year’s recipients and those of years past at the ceremony in June,” said Bishop Joseph, who inaugurated the awards in 1990. “They are shining examples to all of us that the evangelizing spirit and service demonstrated by Servant of God Gallitzin are alive and well in our Diocesan Church.”