Cause for the Canonization of 

Servant of God 

Demetrius Gallitzin

"Apostle of the Alleghenies"




Who was Demetrius Gallitzin?

Catholic Register - Biographical Sketch

Intercessory  Prayer

Report Favors

Help Fund the Cause

Prince Gallitzin Cross Awards


Places to Visit

Books, Letters and Articles

Other Resources

How is one declared a saint?



May 2, 2005

Fifteen To Receive Prince Gallitzin Cross Award

(HOLLIDAYSBURG, PA) – 15 persons will receive the Prince Gallitzin Cross Award from Bishop Joseph V. Adamec during a Saturday, May 21 award ceremony at Cosgrave Center at Mount Aloysius College, Cresson. This year’s recipients include:

bulletFrancis (Bud) and Janet Bloom, of Basilica of Saint Michael the Archangel Parish, Loretto. “There is nothing they wouldn’t do for us,” is phrase consistently heard about Mr. and Mrs. Bloom, according to fellow parishioners. They have served in various aspects of parish ministry, and have volunteered at the Prince Gallitzin Chapel House. “This couple still lives the lifestyle of Prince Gallitzin by helping others, feeling others, being faithful and welcoming,” said members of the parish council.
bulletJoseph B. Eckels of Saint Mary Parish, Altoona, is chairman of the parish finance council. He serves on the RCIA team, and is a lector and an extraordinary minister of the Eucharist. “His kind and generous attitude to his family and his parish is a wonderful example for others, and, as often happens, a convert, his appreciation of our Faith is a beautiful example to us all,” stated his nomination form.
bulletJames R. Eckert of Saint John the Evangelist Parish, Bellefonte, was nominated by the parish council. Director of the RCIA team “Jim’s service steadily contributes to the growth of Saint John the Evangelist Parish and this diocesan Church. His evangelizing spirit reflects that of the priestly Prince Gallitzin and the teachings of the Church.”
bulletBarbara P. Mayernick, of Saint Therese of the Child Jesus Parish, Altoona, was nominated by several members of the parish, who noted that like Father Gallitzin, she embraced the Catholic faith as an adult, and has shown particular devotion to the Holy Eucharist, and a willingness to be of service wherever she is need in the life of the parish.
bulletFather Walter J. Moll, is pastor of Saint Joseph Parish in Portage. According to those who nominated him “His self - sacrificing love and concern for the people of God shines through everything he does. His hands - on work and Christian example in our parish is directly responsible for the growing enthusiasm among parish staff, volunteers, council members and parishioners to live our Christian life.”
bulletSister Catherine Paff O.S.F. is director of religious education at Saint Therese of the Child Jesus Parish in Johnstown. A Johnstown native, she is a graduate of Saint Joseph School and Bishop McCort High School. In 1943 she entered the Franciscan Sisters of Millvale, and has served in the Dioceses of Altoona - Johnstown and Pittsburgh, and in the Archdiocese of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Father Bernard Karmonocky, pastor, describes her as a “valued and dedicated asset” to Saint Therese Parish, where she has served for 12 years.
bulletMonsignor Paul D. Panza has served in almost every aspect of diocesan life and ministry for over 50 years, spending many years in administrative service at the Chancery Office in Hollidaysburg. Under Bishop Joseph V. Adamec he served as the first Vicar General for Administration. When he retired from active ministry, he was serving as rector of the Cathedral of the Blessed Sacrament in Altoona. In 2001, Monsignor Panza was named a prothonotary apostolic by the late Pope John Paul II.
bulletCraig Rolish is a member of Saint Benedict Parish in Geistown, and has served on the parish finance council since 2000. He is always willing to help with different projects related to parish or school functions. A member of the Diocesan Finance Council since 1999, he is chairperson of the Diocese’s Mutual Aid Plan, and has been a board member since 1997.
bulletAileen C. Ropp is director of religious education at Queen of Peace Parish in Patton. She has served in that position, and as Confirmation coordinator for 11 years, and also directs the Virtus Program in the parish. Ropp, a cancer survivor, is described as a very spiritual person, a team player, and someone who lives in faith - filled home.
bulletFather Sylvan Rouse, a Passionist Friar, is one of the founders of Saint Mary’s House of Greater Solitude in Bedford. The house was founded to allow the Passionists to live a more contemplative lifestyle, as originally envisioned by their founder, Saint Paul of the Cross. From the house of solitude, Father Sylvan has been a beacon of prayerful hope throughout the Diocese, sharing the ministry of spiritual direction with clergy and religious.
bulletErnest and Marcella Salvi of Saint Rose of Lima Parish, Altoona, were nominated by Father James F. Crookston, pastor. “As chairpersons, their enthusiasm and limitless energy have spearheaded a bingo that has produced nearly two million dollars in this past decade, and at least three million dollars overall for Saint Rose of Lima School. Their time and talent gifts are a significant benefit for both parents and parishes that support Saint Rose of Lima School.” Noting that the Salvis also serve in liturgical roles, Father Crookston said “They have assumed these and many other parish and school leadership responsibilities with humility worthy of Christian stewards.
bulletSister Agnes T. Scott of Saint Mary Parish, Nanty Glo is a Sister of Saint Agnes, and is described by Father David Peles, pastor as “A wonderful person who truly personifies the Good News of Jesus Christ and the virtues of Prince Gallitzin by her faith, commitment and service to God’s people.” She has served as a teacher at Saint Mary’s School, and currently ministers as director of pastoral care for the sick and homebound.
bulletFather Leonard E. Voytek is pastor of Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton Parish in Windber. Father Voytek directed the process in which Saint John Cantius Parish and Saint Mary Parish merged to form Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton, and later oversaw the demolition of Saint Mary Church. “Because of his efforts, Saint Mary’s is mourned, but its spirit remains alive,” said the parishioners who nominated him. The parishioners stated that “For his devotion at all times to his service in the name of Jesus Christ, we feel he is a worthy candidate for this award.”

    The award ceremony will begin with a social at 5:00 p.m. and dinner at 6:00 p.m.

    Tickets for the event are $30.00 per person, and may be obtained by calling Donna Stoy at the Diocesan Administration Center in Hollidaysburg at (814) 695 - 5579, or by writing to her at 126 Logan Boulevard, Hollidaysburg PA 16648. Reservations must be made no later than Friday, May 6.

    “I look forward to his annual event of recognizing those who carry on the spirit of the Reverend Demetrius Gallitzin within our Diocesan Church,” said Bishop Joseph. “It is a way of encouraging each other on our way into the Reign of God.”